BUSINESS TURNS TO PLEASURE

It has been a while since my last post. I’ve been traveling quite a bit and I’ve been recovering for the past month. I have lots to catch you up on, so be patient with me, as I crank out the archived trips  to reach the most recent adventures.  As for this post, I should preface it with the disclaimer, that this will not be a steamy exert from a trashy novel despite the title, however I think it will still entertain you.
The memory of this trip is surprisingly fresh in my mind. It will be two years next month, since I took this trip with my mate of four years at the time. We were traveling out of the necessity of business. I was excited about the trip. Heck, I am typically happy to venture into any new place or somewhere different from my existing dwelling. Our destination was Myrtle Beach, SC, a beach town that’s known for its southern placed boardwalk, activities, restaurants and shops near the shore. I’ve been there years prior, but things change and I was interested in seeing the new developments. We traveled by car, as I was in the mood for a road trip, and since we also had some time to spare in our schedule, why not. I did most of the driving, because I enjoy doing it and let’s face it, I wanted to be in control (don’t like slow drivers – especially long distance). Our discussion was focused more on what we will accomplish during the business trip and of course some social chatting. The scenery was absolutely beautiful! This is one of the main reasons why I wanted to drive. I love the tree-lined roads, it is a very humbling and invigorating, yet peaceful experience. It’s almost a prelude to my deepest desire…the ocean. Nature is a fantasy for me. It intrigues me by what it is, what it does and what it will do. The greenery of the trees and grass, placed under the clear blue sky, with sparingly placed clouds that is pierced by the sun, is my foreplay to dancing with the waves of the ocean. Ahhh…after I have my personal moment with nature, we arrive at the hotel ready for business.
The meeting goes somewhat the way I expected, but leaves a bit of disappointment in my subconscious. That evening we stay close to the hotel for dinner, since we had a long day. The next morning we complete our last meeting, with a lot to think about and decisions to make. Since we have the rest of the day open and head back the next day, we decided to take in the sights. We head to Broadway at the Beach, which is a ton of fun things to do all in a concentrated area. You can shop for all kinds of stuff, choose from the many restaurants and indulge in fun amusement type activities and rides.  We both purchased some cool nostalgic t-shirts from the 80’s and 90’s, and the same shop had some really rad novelty items like lunch boxes, key chains, etc. Yeah, I said “rad”, had to do it, I was in the moment. I rode the really crazy carnival rides, and after I settle down from the rush, he joined me on a nice romantic ferris wheel ride to cap-off the adventure. The next morning we headed back on the road for home. The ride back is a mix of emotions for me. I never really like to end a good trip, even when it’s a business trip. Needless to say, my return journey consisted of adjusting my emotions back to everyday work mode. When you remove yourself from the normal routine, there is always an acclamation period, no matter how short or long, it happens to us all. I am just more sensitive to the process. While I am activating my switch, we are recapping on our new found knowledge and discussing the psychological side of the equation. In this conversation, I find out who my mate really is and how he perceives me and himself. It is a life changing moment. As it’s happening, I realize what is REALLY going on in one part of my mind, and in the other part, I am dealing with the now. How this unfolds will come at a later date, but for now, I will say this was the key to unlocking so many things inside of me. This was truly a time where business turning into pleasure was not only acceptable, but appreciated and necessary.
Should you ever want to travel to Myrtle Beach, SC check out these sources before you go. Travel as often as you like and safely!
Official Myrtle Beach Website
http://www.cityofmyrtlebeach.com/
Discounted Travel (unbelievable deals)
http://g2gtravel.paycationonline.com/index.asp
One thought on “BUSINESS TURNS TO PLEASURE

Leave a Reply

